If you’re into sports, like me, you know that the use of instant replay technology can make a huge impact on the outcome of a game. In the case of a recent soccer playoff, the lack of instant replay potentially cost Ireland’s national team a trip to the 2010 World Cup. Their opponent, France, was able to score the winning goal when French striker Thierry Henry admittedly touched the ball illegally with his hand. As a result of the goal, Ireland failed to qualify for a trip to South Africa.
Henry believes it’s the referee’s responsibility to make that call. Ireland believes they deserve another shot. The team was denied a request for the game to be played over. But now, they are asking FIFA to include them as the 33rd team in the 32-team field.
What do you think? Is referee error part of the game? Or do the Irish deserve a spot in the World Cup?
Jeremy Dunn, CNNSN Producer