November 19th, 2008
10:05 PM ET

Nebraska's Safe Haven Law

As I write this, Nebraska's lawmakers are working to change their state's controversial safe haven law.  They're going to make it so that only infants less than 30 days old can be legally abandoned at state hospitals.  But when we aired the story, there was no age limit - meaning that people as old as 17 could be left at hospitals by their parents.

In many places, this is a crime known as abandonment.  Safe haven laws, in general, let parents who think their children are in danger leave them at hospitals without being charged with the crime.  But unlike other states with safe haven laws, Nebraska didn't initially set an age limit.  So to give you an idea of what has happened:  On Tuesday, a 15-year-old girl was left at a hospital in the central part of the state; last week, a 14-year-old and his 17-year-old sister were abandoned at a hospital in Omaha.

Many of you are around these ages.  We'd like to hear your opinions on this story.

Carl Azuz, Anchor

Filed under: Feedback • News Coverage